5 journalists are administratively detained in the occupation prisons

The Journalists Support Committee, today, Monday, expressed its strong condemnation after the issuance of a 3-month administrative detention order against the imprisoned journalist Alaa al-Rimawi, as the occupation forces arrested him last Wednesday, after raiding his home in Ramallah in the occupied West Bank.

The Journalists Support Committee recorded 16 cases of issuing an administrative detention order, renewing and confirming a verdict against imprisoned journalists in the occupation prison since the beginning of 2021.

In a press statement, the committee stated that the Rimawi prisoner began an open hunger strike against his arbitrary detention, as he continues his strike for the sixth consecutive day, which led to the deterioration of his health condition and his transfer on Saturday to the hospital to follow up on his condition.

Al-Rimawi is a reporter for Al-Jazeera Mubasher and director of the media site (G Media). He is also a researcher in political and Israeli affairs. The committee also denounced the decision to renew the Ofer Occupation Court, for the third time, the administrative detention of Osama Hussein Shaheen from Hebron for a period of two months, with the issuance of a fundamental decision against him, after the Supreme Court rejected his appeal.

The Committee to Support Journalists said that it views with great seriousness the repetition of the policy of extending detention against journalists, and considers it a grave violation of human rights principles, especially Article 19 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, and constitutes a violation of the rules of international humanitarian law, which guaranteed Protection for journalists. The committee indicated that after the release of the journalist Musab Saeed during the current month, who was administratively detained, 5 of the journalists are still administratively detained without charge in the occupation prisons, and they are Nidal Abu Aker, an administrative detainee for a period of six months, and his detention was renewed twice. Osama Shaheen is an administrative detainee. For a period of 4 months, his detention was renewed for the third time, and the poet Mahmoud Karim Ayyad was administratively detained for a period of six months and his detention was renewed twice, and the journalist Bushra al-Tawil was renewed and her administrative detention was renewed twice for a period of 4 months, and the journalist Alaa al-Rimawi was administratively detained for a period of 3 months.

The committee expressed its full solidarity with journalists, calling on international and international institutions working in the field of human rights or international legal institutions to curb the occupation and impose international protection for journalists and media institutions from the repeated attacks of the occupation against them.